Editor’s Note: It was brought to our attention via email and on our message boards that prior to the game-winning basket in Saturday’s VT-WVU game (won 68-67 by WVU), the WVU inbounder traveled with the basketball. Believing that the traveling rules governing inbounding the ball after it was knocked out of bounds are the same as live-ball traveling rules, we put together a video showing that the WVU player had traveled.
It turns out that it was NOT a traveling violation. On an inbounds play after a referee’s stoppage, the player inbounding the ball has a three-foot area in which he can move his feet to find an open teammate. He commits a turnover if he leaves the three-foot area before he throws the ball inbounds. He does not have to maintain a pivot foot or restrict himself to taking just one step.
Hey, we’re here to educate, even if it means making fools out of ourselves by being wrong. You’re welcome.
The original text of the post follows ….
This video shows that West Virginia committed a walk just before their game winning basket in VT’s 68-67 loss in Morgantown, but the referees blew the call.
FOR BEST VIEWING RESULTS, CLICK THE LOWER RIGHT-HAND CORNER TO VIEW THE VIDEO FULL-SCREEN.